Saturday, July 24, 2021


Must Read
Oluwatumininu Isola
Oluwatumininu Isola is a Content Creator. A student of English Literature at Obafemi Awolowo University.

Love is beautiful. Anyone in love with the right person would agree with me. However, relationships always consist of two people from different backgrounds, upbringing, and personalities. Thus, you tend to differ. Just like a saying that says “opposite attracts,” this is applicable in human relationships as well. Regardless of your personality or background, I have experienced and come to understand that when opposite attracts, they fit like a puzzle. However, there is always an exception.

Knowing the difference in all you do, you’d know that your love languages differ. You cannot assume for your partner. The mistake we mostly make nowadays is loving people in a language they do not understand. Most people do not even have an idea of what love languages are. However, knowing the right love language to speak does not only apply to romantic relationships. It applies to everyone you care for, family, friends, acquaintances, etc.

So that you know, we have five different and was discovered by Gary Chapman.

Here are the five love languages and explanations on how they work.

1. Words of affirmation

One way to express love to some people is the word of affirmation. If words of affirmation are your partner’s love language, they tend to put a high emphasis on the spoken word. This means that they enjoy being reassured that they are loved, appreciated, and it also means that hurtful comments will be extremely damaging. In fact, they often want you to tell them how much you love them. This is not because they do not trust you; they just want you to reassure them often.

2. Quality time

I understand you are busy and trying to make a living; however, try to create time for your partner. They will accept the gift and all, but you notice they still complain, that’s because you’re not speaking the language they’d love to hear. Clearing your schedule and creating time for them would make them feel loved and happy. They absolutely enjoy you give undivided attention. No matter how busy you’re, finding time for your partner is paramount, lack of quality time with partner is one of the major factor that causes misunderstanding in relationships as the refusal to spending quality time can lead to break.

3. Receiving gifts

Almost everyone loves this, and this doesn’t imply they are materialistic. Yes, I love to receive gifts from people that are dear to me. This always reminds me of them whenever they are not around. If receiving gifts is your partner’s love language, do that more often. You will also derive joy in making them happy. It’s a win-win situation. Gifts has been overlooked but really goes a long way, constantly giving gifts to your partner or love ones allow love longetivity.

4. Acts of service

We’ve found ourselves in a generation where we believe rendering helps to your partner is viewed as a form of slavery, especially if it’s the guy doing that for the lady. When acts of service are your partner’s love language, they feel most loved when you do things for them. We all know that “actions speaks louder than voice.”

5. Physical touch

If your partner loves to cuddle, hug, kiss, or make love more, I guess physical touch is their love language. People like this want to always be in close contact with their partner. This is the best way you can show love to them.

Now that you know the five love languages we have, you have to be observant or ask questions. One thing you should know is that you can give them all five. However, one is highly important to them than others.

READ ALSO: The first commandment “Love”


0 0 votes
Article Rating


Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
5 months ago

Nice post


[…] READ ALSO: Five love languages […]



Latest Posts

10 Signs of a cheating partner

Are you finding it difficult to know whether your partner cheats or not? It's pitiful that there is no...

More Articles Like This

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x